General information on the library

The libraries of the University of Joensuu and the University of Kuopio merged into the University of Eastern Finland Library at the beginning of the year 2010. The UEF Library is a public scientific library offering state-of-the-art library and information services especially for the university's 3000 staff members and 13 000 students. However, the library is also open to everyone else who is seeking information. The University of Eastern Finland Library is one single administrative entity which comprises the campus libraries in Joensuu and Kuopio, and the Kuopio University Hospital Medical Library.

The collections and expertise of this multidisciplinary and extensive library are focused on the core missions of the university. The university offers teaching in more than 100 major subjects. There are four faculties in the university: the Philosophical Faculty, the Faculty of Science and Forestry, the Faculty of Health Sciences, and the Faculty of Social Sciences and Business Studies. The university aims at multidisciplinarity which is supported by the easy accessibility to the UEF library's collections and digital services from every campus.

The library's information resources include printed and electronic materials. The library also handles the university's electronic publishing activities, sells university publications and organises information retrieval courses. Moreover, the library is one of the six legal deposit libraries in Finland and a European Documentation Centre.

Printable info on the library (pdf)